神乐

歌舞伎

不识神乐,
不足以道歌舞伎

歌舞伎是闻名全球的日本传统文艺表演,自江户时代开始以城镇大众文艺的形式发展至今。您是否了解歌舞伎的起源呢?


很多人都知道,歌舞伎的演员是清一色的男性。反串女性角色时,演员的表情和动作凝聚了精益求精的日本文化特点。而实际上,歌舞伎的原型──歌舞伎舞蹈表演的创始人却是一位女性。



这位女性的名字叫阿国。她是出云大社的巫女,就像是修道院的修女一般的人物。她为神社筹集捐款而在各地奔走时,为吸引更多人的关注,采用了神乐舞蹈表演的形式。之后越来越受欢迎,发展为成功进入江户的表演团体。日本各地都有与神乐相似的供奉神明的舞蹈文化。但阿国是以表演的形式成功募集捐款的第一人。


不久,由于政府禁止女性登台跳舞,阿国便回出云去了。留在江户的其他歌舞伎团体为了继续吸引观众,如上文所述,开始研究如何使演员的动作看上去更加女性化。另一方面,阿国等人完成了用表演募集捐款的任务后,开始周游全国各地,为当地的神明奉上自己学到的舞蹈和表演。这种毫无束缚感、游刃有余的表现形式一直传承至今。

而最有意思的是,日本大多数地区每年只在一两次特殊仪式上进行舞蹈等表演,不过阿国是为了供奉神明而创作舞蹈,或许受到这一初衷的影响,如今神乐在山阴地区每周都会上演,继续散发着迷人的魅力。

Kagura

Kabuki

You Can't Talk About Kabuki
Until You've Watched Kagura

Kabuki is renowned worldwide as a Japanese performing art. During the Edo Period (17th century to the mid-19th century), kabuki developed into one of the largest forms of public entertainment in urban areas. For all its fame in the modern day, however, where exactly did kabuki come from?


It is widely known that kabuki is performed only by men. The quintessentially Japanese trait of paying special attention to the smallest of details is concentrated within the gestures and movements of the kabuki performers when they act out the roles of women. Although the world of kabuki is a male-dominated one, did you know that its roots, a style of dancing called kabuki-odori, were established by a woman?

Her name was Okuni. She served as a shrine maiden at Izumo Grand Shrine, which is similar to being a nun at a church. She traveled around to different areas of Japan to collect donations for the shrine, and in an effort to get as many people to gather as possible, she organized shows with kagura dances. These performances grew in popularity, leading to the formation of a performance group that made its way to Edo (modern-day Tokyo). There are examples of traditional dances like kagura done as offerings to the deities throughout Japan, but Okuni is the first person to successfully organize performances of traditional art as a way to get monetary donations.

Not long after this, however, the shogunate banned women from dancing on stage, and Okuni had to return to Izumo. In order to maintain the popularity of kabuki among audiences, the male performers in other kabuki groups that remained in Edo began polishing their movements and expressions so that they would look more like women when playing female roles. Okuni and the other performers in her group, having fulfilled their role of gathering donations for the shrine, brought back home the dances and performances they had learned traveling the country, and began performing them as offerings to their local deities. The unrestricted, free-flowing expressions can still be seen today.

In many areas throughout Japan, dances are only performed once or twice a year at very special events, but here’s what’s really interesting: kagura is still performed somewhere every week throughout SAN-IN, charming all who gather to watch it. Who knows? This may even be due to the influence of Okuni organizing kagura performances as a way to serve the gods.